Scholarship Student Interview: Sam

On the easel today, Sam Haynes, one of our fantastic scholarship students.

How long have you been working at the Schmidt?
Well, I’ve just started working here, but I’ve been bugging Jes & Nicole for a while now. I’ve been to openings for as many exhibits as I could attend, and when I remembered to, so I’ve been coming in and out (even when I wasn’t supposed to be) since the spring of last year.

What is the strangest question you’ve been asked while working at the Schmidt?
I don’t get asked questions because I don’t speak so good and also, I’m super new so there are other people they want to ask first.

17273396_1362316310458012_1497768842_o

What is your go-to media?
Right now, it’d have to be anything I can get my poor hands on. I’m still exploring mediums of E X P R E S S I O N, so I’d be happy to work with anything, as long as it isn’t a fat piece of charcoal. More recently I’ve begun to get more serious about sculptural clay pieces, so maybe a better answer is clay.

You’re put in charge for a week, who do you hire and why?
Nature Nick. For those of you who don’t know, Nature Nick is Long Island’s ONLY Traveling Animal Show Featuring Wildlife From All Corners Of The Globe. I’d hire him so I could teach him good design principles for displaying a showcase of exotic fauna instead of the mess he sometimes ends up displaying on the road. Like, yeah, that owl’s cool, but why is it so far above and detached from the rest of the exhibit, Nicholas?

What has been your favorite exhibition?
Last Spring’s student show was pretty great. But so was the faculty show. And I loved Albert’s pieces this year. I never knew fluorescent pink could look so good in any space.

What’s your favorite media to exhibit?
Anything you can just lay on the ground because that means ladders aren’t necessary.

If you could demand to have one artist show at the Schmidt, who would it be and why?
If we could get a Sophie Taeuber-Arp retrospective here, that would make my dreams come true. Not only do I love her work (and I love every single piece in every medium she made), but I think that people don’t really know who she was, even though she was the most prevalent and important female Dadaist artist there was. It’s a shame that she’s been kind of forgotten and to have her works here would bring some light on who she was, why she was important, and just how great of an artist she was, even compared to her husband.

What are your hopes for the Schmidt in the future?
Well, I hope that we get more donors, are able to amass an even larger collection, and that the Schmidt will grow to be the most recognized gallery attached to a two-year university.

Possibly the most important question: What music do you listen to when you’re working on your art?
“Sussudio” by Phil Collins. That song and that song alone can get me through ten straight hours of work if need be.
Unless I’m by myself, and then the song is too spooky and I have to listen to something by Harry Belafonte or Madonna.

Leave a Reply

