Our Student Worker Interviews are Back!

It’s a new semester, and we have new students workers/interns/scholarship students at the Schmidt. It’s that time again to introduce you to them.

First on the easel: Gretchen Engelbrecht, one of our scholarship students.

How long have you been working at the Schmidt?
This is my second semester of working at the Schmidt.

What is the strangest question you’ve been asked while working here?
Once someone asked if the cup of pencils on the desk were an art piece. They were not.

What is your go-to media as an art student?
Oil paint or ink

You’re put in charge for a week. Who do you hire and why?
I would hire someone organized and able to work delicately, with an appreciation for the art coming in and out.

Gretchen Engelbrecht

Gretchen Engelbrecht

What has been your favorite exhibition so far?
My favorite exhibition was Timothy Norton’s: BOOKSINMYLIFE.

What’s your favorite media to exhibit?
My favorite media is whichever is easiest to install, though I’m sure I’d be love to work with an installation piece if given the chance.

If you could demand to have one artist show at the Schmidt, who would it be and why?
I would want Ai Wei Wei because I enjoy his work and think it pushes buttons that need to be pushed.

What are your hopes for the Schmidt in the future?
I hope that eventually the building will be expanded so there are more classrooms and gallery spaces available for art to be displayed.

Possibly the most important question: What music do you listen to when you’re working on your art?
The music I listen to is usually trip-hop or smooth jazz, nothing to ambient or too loud.

Where are you going after this?
I’m transferring to Ohio State.

Leave a Reply

