Artist Spotlight: Nancy Friederich

SWIC Art Faculty Exhibition
January 19 – February 23, 2017

Each Monday and Wednesday during the SWIC Art Faculty Exhibition, we will feature one of the exhibiting art instructors, including their artist statement and images of their works.

Statement
The Pathway series of paintings that I am presently working on includes some of my favorite places and countries that I have had the pleasure to visit.

The botanical garden painting is from the Missouri Botanical Garden, one of my favorite places. This lovely lady allowed me to take her picture in another location in the garden. I placed her on this path.

The cemetery scene is from my grandfather’s birthplace in southern Hungary. We were there looking for our family name on tombstones. We didn’t find any family members, but my mother had an interesting conversation (in Hungarian) with the lovely women caring for the graves of their loved ones. It was a special Saturday evening for all of us.

The painting I have just begun will also be part of the Pathway series, and is based on a visit I took to a small mountain village in Peru. I am anxious to paint this one.

Works
Sunday Stroll at the Botanical Garden, 2015
50” x 37”
oil on paper

Roses, 2015
37” x 50”
oil on paper

The Gathering, Barcs, Hungary, 2016
37” x 50”
oil on paper

20170119_104951

Friederich’s “Roses”

friederich1

Friederich’s “The Gathering, Barcs, Hungary”

Leave a Reply

