2015 SWIC Art Faculty Show – Interview #5

Our exhibition of artwork by the art faculty of Southwestern Illinois College is now open through February 26th. Sculpture, painting, ceramics, drawing, digital images, photography, and mixed media all show the diversity and talent of the faculty artists. 

The faculty is not spared from our intern Kailey’s interviews. Below, Paula McAteer answers her questions.

Paula McAteer's "Untitled", clay, paint, skull, pearl, ribbon

Paula McAteer’s “Untitled ” (detail), clay, paint, skull, pearl, ribbon

When did you know the arts were what you wanted to do, long-term?
I think I always knew.  Some of my earliest memories are of making things.  I used to go around the house and find things that interested me and set them up in a pleasing way.  I had no idea at the time that I was creating a still life.

What inspires you the most?
I find the figure to be the most inspiring and as corny as it sounds, the human condition.  I’m drawn to people’s stories and what transforms them.  I’m also drawn to nonfiction, documentaries, high fashion, medieval sculpture, nature, and fantasy.

What is your current favorite medium?
Clay

When you’re working, what do you listen to, if anything?
I don’t have a favorite artist; it just has to have a certain atmospheric sound. Occasionally I have Netflix on, but it just turns into background noise.

What piece are you most proud of?
I don’t think I have one. That’s why I keep doing it.

Not to be morbid, but what would you like to be remembered for? Tenacity

Paula McAteer's "Gloves", oil on board

Paula McAteer’s “Gloves”, oil on board

Have you ever regretted making something and showing it?
Yes.

What is the best comment you’ve ever received?
Any comment that is genuine, constructive criticism.  I really value it.

The worst?
Any comment about my physical appearance.  I find the topic boring.

What would you like to accomplish within the next five years?
I’m really looking forward to exploring sculpture and drawing. I also have a solo show in the works at McKendree University, which is exciting.

What’s your go-to snack when you’re working?
I drink a copious amount of coffee and hot tea. I used to snack on pretzels and red vines but I gave it up.

If you could be anyone (Seriously, anyone. Past/present/future/nonexistent/existent. You get the idea.) who would you be and why?
The President of the United States.  (seriously)

Thanks again to Paula for answering our questions!

Posted by Jessica Mannisi, assistant curator
One response to “2015 SWIC Art Faculty Show – Interview #5

  1. Provocative and fascinating, a geniune individual without that mantle of role…

Leave a Reply

